The more we dig into the depths of who we are on the path to becoming who we are meant to be, the more obstacles are going to block the path. Of that we can be sure. Any journey of truth is a one fraught with lessons, bumps and bruises along the way. Sometimes the toughest thing is to just get out of our own way! Being present, fully, with those around us and letting go of ourselves is often a gargantuan task. I learned this lesson the hard way this week, and boy, did it make me feel small and selfish! Coming off of a wonderfully relaxing and restorative weekend, it was a gut-check that while I have been working so diligently to be present in each day, I am far from immune to falling into old patterns. I had a friend in need of emotional support unexpectedly, a friend I was excited to see in our so very short bursts of personal time together, and I kinda screwed it all up. My mind was definitely not in the present moment and far from in a loving place. Worst part? I didn’t even realize the impact my emotional unavailability had on her. We made plans for another day and parted ways. Still locked in my own head… I thought nothing of it. 30 minutes later… and for most of the better part of this week… It has never been far from my mind. She sent me a message describing her hurt and rejection. I was crushed, frustrated at myself, and disappointed that I wasn’t even aware enough to see past myself at the time. All’s well that ends well. We are fine. In fact, maybe a little more appreciative of the fact that we tackled it head on, communicated from a place of authenticity, and honored our friendship with honesty. Score: Friendship = 1, Misery = 0. While the experience was hurtful and disappointing, it would be much worse to not appreciate the lesson to be learned. Remaining ever grateful, present, and in a state of love is a work in progress. To be sure, the things we allow to crowd into our present moments are more than likely inconsequential to what is going on around us at the time. Stop. Take a breath. Let go of yourself. And honor the moment you are in, alone or in company… before the damage is done. Be grateful. Be present. Be love. Namaste

10641141_718716498177554_7075936866117517040_n

Share your soulbeams!

