A lifetime with friends

sex & the city

Almost 18 years ago… (17 and 49 weeks to be exact) I packed up my belongings in NYC, hugged one of my dearest friends goodbye, and moved on to my next adventure in life. Next week I will finally get to see that friend once again. To laugh together. Celebrate together. And just BE. I can’t say that I have been any more excited this summer than I am to make this lil’ trip north to Tarheel Country and give this gal a proper Southern welcome. Bring on the hugs, smiles, laughter, and wine… It’s about time to cut loose!

I think for each of us there are friendships that come and go like the changing of tides. Some remain steadfast as the pines, while those others slip away having changed us in the process. Stay or go, they all serve to nurture, provide strength and support, and help us grow as humans. I have learned this year that while my heart longs to love, nurture and stay loyal to all friendships; not all should remain active and close. It was a hard, necessary lesson.

Then, there are the ones that stick forever, regardless of space & time. These are the ones that 18 years can pass out of circumstance yet the smiles and laughter never miss a beat in reunion. The ones that fill your heart with joy with an out-of-the-blue phone call, e-mail, or random dug-up picture of past escapades. For instance, my friend, Julie, surprised me this year with a tagged post of a note I had given her on her birthday many years past. The smile that exploded on my face and in my heart was such a sweet reminder of a sister-love that will never die. I haven’t seen her in too many years to even recall. She lives in my heart though. And forever will. Should we not meet again in this lifetime her essence will live on in me through the next.

We all need friends like that. They change us. Imprint their spirits on our hearts. It is in true friendship that we learn how to be the humans we were meant to be.  tweet We see, hear, and feel the things that we most admire in others and weave those behaviors into the fibers that are us. As life goes on, we each become a little more of the people who have touched our lives along the journey.

I hope you know who yours are and have been… A lifetime is being built on their shoulders.

Love & Light

Share your soulbeams!

