When we wake, we have a choice:
To see the day with blue-sky eyes
And new-leaf hearts
Or smoke-cloud vision
And cracked-earth souls
To taste on the tip of our tongues the bitter or the sweet
To take the top of the morning or the depth of mourning
To breathe the acrid air or find it sweet and filling
But I live with an eternal green-grass mindset
Always hoping to find tulips in my own garden
And every morning
Before I put my feet on the floor
I look at my hands
Empty, but capable of holding
And digging into the fertile soil of life and friendship
And Spring
I choose happy
And sugar in my tea.

-Natalie Wise, The Dreamer

Share your soulbeams!

